random photo

The University of Santiago de Compostela

The University of Santiago de Compostela is more than 500 years old. It was founded by Lope Gómez de Marzoa in 1495 and it is one of the oldest universities in Spain. It currently has three campuses, two in Santiago de Compostela and a third one in Lugo,  with more than 30,000 students. The university has 30 schools and research institutes, 80 departments, and offers more than 80 degree and master programmes on a wide range of subjects. Its 2,300 professors and lecturers are grouped in more than 300 research units, some of them relevant at international level.

The campus of Lugo is devoted to research on rural areas, agriculture, animal husbandry and forests. The Higher Polytechnic School is one of the main schools, with about 3,000 students, 250 professors and lecturers and 9 programmes on agriculture, forestry, civil engineering, and geomatics.

Laboratorio do Territorio (LaboraTe)

The Land Laboratory was created in 1995 aimed at the research of land consolidation as the main instrument of land policy and land administration in rural areas for more than fifty years. Its micro-scale approach, based in the land parcel as the basic unit of analysis, quickly highlighted the need of an integration with broader policies like, for example, physical planning. The needs of local and regional administrations, but also of private firms, of more complex instruments for their policies and goals, helped to broaden the original research topics.